The 8th Asia-Pacific ESR/EPR Symposium was Held at Tsinghua University

  The 8th Asia-Pacific Electron Spin Resonance/Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (ESR/EPR) Symposium (APES2012) was held at Wenjin Hotel near the campus of Tsinghua University during Oct. 11-15, 2012. The meeting attracted more than 110 participants, 67 of which overseas, from 15 countries or regions. 6 plenary lectures, 2 Young Scientist Award lectures, 39 invited lectures, 15 oral lectures and 38 posters were presented over the five-day-conference.

  The participants communicated the latest research results in different fields of EPR/ESR during the conference, ranging from theoretical and experimental advances in CW EPR/ESR, pulsed EPR, high frequency and high field EPR, ENDOR, time resolved EPR, FMR, EPRI, CIDEP and ODMR to applications in medicine, biology, chemistry, materials science and quantum calculation. The EPR/ESR equipment manufacturers JEOL and BRUKER introduced their progresses in novel technologiy of EPR/ESR equipment. Two excellent poster awards were elected.

  Biennial Asia-Pacific EPR/ESR Symposium is a significant platform to exchanging scientific ideas for the researchers or manufacturers on EPR/ESR from Asia-Pacific region, even from the global world. APES2012 is the eighth symposium following the successful APES1997 (Hong Kong, China), APES1999 (Hangzhou, China), APES2001 (Kobe, Japan), APES2004 (Bangalore, India), APES2006 (Novosibirsk, Russia), APES2008 (Cairns, Australia), and APES2010 (Jeju, Korea). APES2012 was organized by Tsinghua University. Associated professor Yong LI and Dr. Haijun YANG from the Department of Chemistry, Tsinghua University were the Chairman and Secretary General of Local Organizing Committee of APES2012 respectively. In the general meeting during the conference, associated professor Yong LI was elected as a vice president of Asia-Pacific EPR/ESR Society, and Dr. Haijun YANG was elected as a representative of China.