Prof. Richard N. Zare was awarded the China International Science and Technology Cooperation Award

  China awarded five foreign scientists from the United States, Denmark, Japan and Canada for their contributions to Sino-foreign research cooperation on the award ceremony of China International Science and Technology Cooperation Award held in Beijing on Jan. 18, 2013. Prof. Richard N. Zare, Honorary Professor of Tsinghua University, became one of the five award-winners.

  Prof. Richard N. Zare is Member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) and Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). He is the Marguerite Blake Wilbur Professor in Natural Science at Stanford University, and is renowned for his research in the area of laser chemistry, resulting in a greater understanding of chemical reactions at the molecular level.

  Professor Zare helps bring forward the cooperation and communication between the science foundations of China and America during his term as Chairman of the National Science Board of the United States. He has trained a group of high-level Chinese research talents and co-authored 169 articles with Chinese researchers, including as a co-supervisor for Dr. Huibin Wei of Prof. Jin-Ming Lin's research group, the Department of Chemistry, Tsinghua University.

  The International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award of the People's Republic of China is a national science and technology award established by the Chinese State Council. It is granted every year to foreign scientists, engineers, managers, or organizations that have made important contributions to China's bilateral or multilateral scientific and technological cooperation. Besides Prof. Richard N.Zare, among the list of 2012 are Flemming Besenbacher (Denmark), Lonnie Thompson (United States), Shin-ichi Kurokawa (Japan) and Michael L Phillips (Canada).