MOE Key Laboratory of Organic Optoelectronics & Molecular Engineering

The Key Laboratory of Organic Optoelectronics & Molecular Engineering of Ministry of Education is aiming at developing new organic optoelectric materials by molecular engineering. We focus on the development of interdisciplinary organic optoelectronics and molecular engineering.

Since the Lab was established in November 2003, we have made achievements in new light-emitting molecules, amphiphilic molecules, biological molecules modified conjugated molecules, photochromic photosensitive molecules, functional comb-type copolymers, nanocrystals and photonic crystals. We’ve also used these novel materials in new organic displays, organic transistors, organic optocouplers, organic solar cells, third-order nonlinear optical switches, new lithium batteries, fuel cells and so on. We’ve developed new methods of nano-crystalline catalysis, atom-economic reactions and green synthesis chemistry. We’ve advanced the theory of organic electronics and molecular Engineering. Based on our insight researches on materials design and synthesis, electrode preparation, organic film growth, device packaging, and other key technologies, we’ve built the first OLED mass-production line of mainland China. We are the first in the world to use high reliability OLED displays on the spacesuits of the astronaut in Shenzhou VII spacecraft.

After seven years of development, the Lab has not only achieved great academic and technological innovations, but also cultivated a group of interdisciplinary talents. We have a high-level research team: 20 professors, 11 associate professors, including 1 Academician of Chinese
Academy of Science, 5 Cheung Kong Scholar Chair Professors, 7 winners of Outstanding Youth Fund and 3 cross-centurytalents of Ministry of Education.

Director: Yong QIU Professor
Vice-Directors: Boqing XU Professor Fushi ZHANG Professor Zhiqiang WANG Professor

Academic Committee                                                                                                                        

Chairman: Chenho TUNG    Professor Technical Institute of Physics & Chemistry, CAS Academician of CAS
Vice-Chairmen:  Xiaoyin HONG  Professor  Tsinghua University  
  Xi ZHANG  Professor  Tsinghua University Academician of CAS Academician of CAS
  Yong CAO  Professor  South China University of Technology  Academician of CAS
  Hongyuan CHEN Professor  Nanjing University  Academician of CAS
  Jinpei CHENG  Professor  Nankai University  Academician of CAS
  Shouhua FENG  Professor  Jilin University  Academician of CAS
  Binglin GU Professor  Tsinghua University  Academician of CAS
  Mingyuan HE  Professor  SINOPEC Research Institute of Petroleum Processing  Academician of CAS
  Jianguo HOU  Professor  University of Science & Technology of China  Academician of CAS
  Can LI  Professor  Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics  Academician of CAS
  Qifeng ZHOU Professor  Peking University  Academician of CAS
  Daoben ZHU  Professor  Institute of Chemistry  Academician of CAS
  Jing ZHU  Professor  Tsinghua University  Academician of CAS
  Yong QIU Professor  Tsinghua University